MFGG Forums
Metroidvania type Mario platformer/rpg idea - Printable Version

+- MFGG Forums (https://forums.mfgg.net)
+-- Forum: MFGG (https://forums.mfgg.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Developer Discussion (https://forums.mfgg.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Metroidvania type Mario platformer/rpg idea (/showthread.php?tid=1644)

Metroidvania type Mario platformer/rpg idea - GoombiranhaPlant - 02-13-2019

Hi there, I'm new. I'll start off by saying I'm not a Coder, though my brother is a very capable one making an original game Song of Asirra currently. I actually live in Senegal for another ten months, been here 1.5 years doing agriculture work w Peace Corps.

So, I'm in a rural village of 200 or so people. electricity came to town just half a year ago, all that detail is just to point out I'm in no position to make or work on a game at least till 2020. But I want to share my ideas and see if anyone wants to help.

An old online friend and I started this graphic style years ago, you see it in my avatar. I'd like to use that for this game idea I've kicked around a long time and recently fleshed out.

Super Mario Countryside
Side scrolling Mario game with RPG elements like exp/leveling up, equipping armor/weapons, party members (but youd only play as one at a time).
It would be open ended like a Metroidvania, one connected world w different areas rather than levels/worlds.

Story, Mario is a famous hero and carpenter, Luigi a well respected blacksmith who forged the Star of Peace from a fallen star. Only now... Nobody can remember who they are!
Bowser has Peach again, but this time she's agreed to marriage and is now Queen Peach. She addresses the Toadstool Court saying she's sick of kidnap/rescue routine, and that Queens need no rescuing.