MFGG Forums
I have a problem. - Printable Version

+- MFGG Forums (https://forums.mfgg.net)
+-- Forum: MFGG (https://forums.mfgg.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Developer Discussion (https://forums.mfgg.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: I have a problem. (/showthread.php?tid=2753)

I have a problem. - Videogamejunkie443 - 08-05-2021

I've been dedicating all of my time to my fangame. I haven't really been doing anything else. My father says I need to get out of the house, but I'm worried that I'll spend too much time away from my game. Also, I want to know something. Do any of you fan game creators have jobs? If so, what are they?

RE: I have a problem. - Vert - 08-05-2021

I made fangames and make indie games now, that counts right? I'm a web dev.

Getting out of the house once in a while is definitely good for you. Spending all your time on a game is a good way to get burned out.

RE: I have a problem. - VinnyVideo - 08-05-2021

Balance, my friend! It's great that you're passionate about making games. It's a fun and rewarding activity - and it's a great introduction to programming if you want to turn this into a career!

I have a full-time job, yet the past year has been one of my most productive times I've ever had for making games. I've also gone on a long walk almost every day - that's been really helpful in clearing my mind after I've been staring at a screen all day. And while the pandemic has limited my social life, I've tried to make time to stay in touch with family and friends.

In the long run, you'll be more productive and more creative if you find the right balance - work hard on your games and personal projects when you're in the mood, but take the time to exercise, hang out with friends and family, eat nourishing food (don't subsist solely on Mountain Dew!), and stuff.

RE: I have a problem. - Luigibonus - 08-05-2021