MFGG Forums
Mario Fan-Game Engine using Unity - Printable Version

+- MFGG Forums (https://forums.mfgg.net)
+-- Forum: MFGG (https://forums.mfgg.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Developer Discussion (https://forums.mfgg.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Mario Fan-Game Engine using Unity (/showthread.php?tid=2923)

Mario Fan-Game Engine using Unity - ADScomics - 10-12-2022

Hi all,

I'm a relatively old member on MFGG (Just never active). I used to make a lot of fan-games around 10 years ago in Game Maker 8 before moving on to more advanced engines. As of now, I'm currently a full-time game designer and part time indie dev (You can see one of my projects here), who specializes in the Unity Engine. I used to work in Game Maker for a while, but I feel like I've outgrown it, and I imagine there are people out there who feel the same (Not to downplay anyone who uses Game Maker, it's a fantastic tool).
That all being said, I've been considering the idea of building a 2D Mario fan-game engine/framework using the Unity Engine, which could be deployed as a package. The idea would be to make something easy to use and deploy for those familiar with Unity, while also being something that the user could build on top of, if they wished. It would basically be a Hello Engine equivalent for the Unity Engine (at least that's the end goal).
I think there could be some value gained from this for people like myself who have become more familiar with the Unity Engine, or people who just don't like Game Maker's payment plans (Or the fact that it changed so much post-Game Maker 8). That all being said, I would love some input from you all to see if this is something that would be valuable for fan-game developers, as I have been outside of that arena for a very long time. Thanks!  Smile

RE: Mario Fan-Game Engine using Unity - VinnyVideo - 10-16-2022

I'd love to see this - I think many people would find this helpful.